Is Pepper Jack Cheese Vegetarian

Don't Miss

What Is Vegetarian Rennet

Vegan Cheeses: Pepper Jack, Smoked Gouda, Blue Cheese and Feta Cheese
  • Vegetarian rennets are either vegetable-based , microbial or made using genetically modified rennet.
  • A high percentage of hard cheese made in the UK is produced using chymosin produced in genetically modified organisms . For example, chymosin can be made by the genetic modification of the yeast Kluyveromyces lacti. To do this, the genetic code, or DNA, for chymosin is isolated from calf cells. This DNA acts as a template. A copy is produced and is inserted into yeast cells, which are cultivated and allowed to grow in a suitable environment. The chymosin produced by these cells is identical to the animal protein and the cheese itself is not made using a GMO but rather a product of this, the enzyme.
  • Is Cheddar Jack The Same As Pepper Jack

    With a flavor similar to pineapple and tart spice, Monterey Jack is a semi-soft, open textured wine. The flavor gradually resembles Cheddar it goes mostly toward Muenster when aged. Pepper Jack cheese made from Monterey Jack cheese with red and green chili peppers provides a slightly peppery flavor.

    What Cheeses Are Commonly Vegetarian

    While you should still look at the ingredient list to be safe, some types of cheese are usually a safe bet because of how they are made. “Soft cheeses that do not require coagulation don’t use rennet at all,” explains Largeman-Roth.

    Instead of rennet, the following cheeses are typically made by adding some type of acid to milk, which helps form loose curds that can either remain as curds or be formed into a soft cheese.

    Also Check: What Is Plant Based Cheese

    Is Cheese Vegetarian By Dk On Dec 6 2012

    enzymesVegetarian cheese would label theirs as thatvegetable rennetI have listed the nomenclature generally used by such cheeses.Medium Cheddar Cheese has the term “No Animal rennet” mentioned in the ingredients section.Monterey Jack Cheese made with “Non-Animal Enzyme”My all time favorite Cheese – fresh Mozzarella here uses “Vegetable Rennet”Here is another brand for Monterey Jack Cheese that mentions “Vegetable Enzymes” in its listIf using enzymes from a vegetarian source, it is indeed mentioned likewise. Like here – “Microbial Enzymes”.Apart from that, some brands advertise the fact right in your face. Like this Parmesan that I get from my local Whole Foods Market 🙂resource Some companies will specifically list `rennet’ or `rennin’ while others might just say `enzymes.’ Other terms to look out for include `chymosin’ and `rennase.’ For those that list `enzymes,’these are most likely animal enzymes. Even some cottage cheese and sour cream products contain rennet. If a company is using microbial enzymes, it will probably state specifically `vegetable enzymes’ or `vegetable rennet.’

    Here is a website, that might be useful to you, where there is a comprehensive list of Cheese brands that are vegetarian. Browse by Type or Browse by Brand

    Vegan Pepper Jack Cheese

    GO Veggie! Pepper Jack Flavor Slices Lactose Free

    This Vegan Pepper Jack Cheese is perfect for a party! I LOVE cheese and crackers at a party! So I was not going to let this vegan thing ruin my party! Pepper Jack is a favorite so with a little I experimenting I found this vegan pepper jack cheese which is excellent! It is made with cashews and sliceable so it is perfect on crackers.

    This month I threw a party at the Meatless Monday Supper Club with different kinds of vegan cheese and gave an opportunity for everyone to try them. I also made a simple sliceable cashew cheese along with my Notso Queso Dip.

    For the Sliceable Vegan Cashew Cheese I used this recipe from a beautiful website called Jennifers Kitchen, you should really check out her recipes there is a great variety of healthy and yummy foods. She also posts a lot of Gluten Free recipes for those of you who need it.

    I slightly modified the Pepper Jack cheese from the Vegan Richa website. It is a little different than many recipes I have tried in the past in that it has a few different starches in it. I think the different starches help it to melt nicely but I think it was a little grainy.

    This is my version of the next week I will share my Notso Queso Chipotle Cheese Sauce.

    Also Check: Where Is Mascarpone Cheese In Grocery Store

    How Do You Make Vegan Cheese Taste Like Cheese

    In addition to nutritional yeast this is why vegan cheeses taste even better we think its unusual for much foods texture-or taste varies from food to food. Vegan cheeses can benefit from this important ingredient, as it gives the cheese that cheesy taste without undergoing an aging process.

    What About When You Eat Out

    Wondering what you’re supposed to do when you eat out? It’s usually pretty simple: “Unless a restaurant has taken the time to specify that a cheese has been made with vegetable rennet, you should assume that it has been made with animal-derived rennet,” says Largeman-Roth.

    Or, another tactic: Opt for a cheese that’s not traditionally made with rennet anyway. See the next section for some tasty picks!

    Also Check: How To Make Mac N Cheese Creamy

    What Is The Base Of Pepperjack Cheese

    Cheese has a similar taste profile to Monterey Jack and the name pepper jack cheese is a variant. A semi-soft cheese studded with pepper, jalapeo, rosemary, garlic, and habaero chilies, pepper jack cheese has an open texture, as well as a very spicy flavor that is made with a mixture of peppers, rosemary, habaero chilies and garlic peppers. When you chew on pepper jack, it dissolves nicely due to its high moisture content.

    Why Wouldn’t Cheese Be Vegetarian

    A Saag Recipe made with Pepper Jack Cheese: A Vegetarian Spinach Dish

    Put simply: Any cheese containing “rennet” or “animal enzymes” to aid in coagulationaka to separate milk into solid curdsis not vegetarian.

    “Rennet is an enzyme that comes from the stomach of ruminant animals like cows and goats,” says Abby Cannon, R.D., who personally follows a plant-based diet. “Because it’s obtained after slaughtering the animal, it’s not considered vegetarian. Milk or cheeses made without rennet are considered vegetarian because they can be made without harm to the animal.”

    Cheeses containing animal rennet will almost always say one of the following on the ingredient list: “rennet,” “animal enzymes,” or simply “enzymes.”

    Don’t Miss: How Much Is Mac And Cheese

    How To Make Vegan Pepper Jack Cheese

  • Lightly spray a plastic mold, set aside, Rinse cashews and place into a blender with water, add nutritional yeast flakes. tahini, lemon juice, onion powder, garlic, and salt. Process until smooth and creamy. Set aside.
  • Add water to a medium saucepan, add agar powder and stir using a whisk. Heat mixture over medium-high heat while stirring vigorously with a whisk for about a minute until bubbly.
  • Pour cooked agar in the cashew sauce that is in the blender, process until thick and creamy.
  • Pour the sauce in the prepared mold, stir in bell pepper, jalapeno and pepper flakes. flatten the top using the back of a spoon.
  • Chill until set, about 1 hour.
  • The Steps To Make Vegan Pepper Jack Cheese:

    Seed and dice your jalapeños, add just a teaspoon of REFINED coconut oil to the pan, and sauté until soft.

    Assemble the rest of your ingredients .

    Rinse cashews under HOT running water for several minutes . Save aside sautéed Jalapeño, crushed red pepper.

    Add all other ingredients to blender, adding boiling water last .

    Blend immediately until smooth, stopping once to scrape the sides of blender. .

    Add Sautéed Jalapeño and crushed red pepper and blend or pulse quickly. Pour immediately into mold.

    Note: As soon as the cheese begins to cool, it will start to harden. This is the reason for working quickly.

    Tip: Rinsing cashews under HOT running water helps soften them for blending and also largely removes the cashew flavor.

    Well, folks, I think that about explains Vegan Pepper Jack Cheese for now. I’m super thrilled for you to try this cheese and share it with your friends – vegan and non-vegan alike. I think you’ll find/create a LOT of new vegan cheese lovers!!

    Recommended Reading: What Does Chuck E Cheese Stand For

    How To Make Sliceable Cheese

  • Chop up 1/3 cup of red peppers and 1-2 Jalanos into very small pieces.
  • Saute the peppers in 1 tbsp of oil over low heat for about 3 minutes.
  • Add a can of coconut milk, 1/2 cup of water, 3 tbsp of nutritional yeast, 2 tbsp agar agar powder, 1/2 tsp garlic, 1/2 tsp lemon juice, 1 tsp salt, and a dash of cayenne pepper.
  • Heat the cheese sauce over medium heat until it begins to boil.
  • Turn down the heat until it is just barely bubbling and allow it to boil for 6 minutes while stirring frequently.
  • Pour into a glass container and allow to cool uncovered in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours.
  • Q1 Is Monterey Jack Cheese Vegan

    Fried Pepper Jack Cheese Sticks Recipe

    Technically, Monterey Jack cheese is not vegan because it contains rennet, which is an enzyme that comes from the stomachs of calves.

    Monterey Jack is a semi-hard cheese produced from cows milk that is known for its mild flavor and subtle sweetness. While the majority of the softer types seen in American shops are only one month old, dry Jack is a tougher variety that has been aged for up to six months.

    Monterey Jack cheese is typically used as an internal melting cheese in California-style burritos, some Mexican-style burritos.

    A vegan diet eliminates all meat and animal products in favor of plant-based foods. Monterey Jack cheese is not vegan because it is derived from animal milk. Vegetarians can eat cheese since they consume animal dairy products.

    However, some brands of Monterey Jack cheese are made using a vegan rennet alternative, so it is possible to find a vegan version of this cheese.

    If you are looking for a vegan-friendly Monterey Jack cheese, try one of the following brands:

    -Kite Hill

    Also Check: How To Make Mac And Cheese Thicker

    Final Thought On Vegan Substitutes For Monterey Jack Cheese

    Veganism is growing in popularity, and many people are looking for substitutes for their favorite foods.

    This list includes vegan substitutions to Monterey Jack cheese which you can use when cooking or eating out at restaurants.

    Hey! Do you miss your Favourite Mac & Cheese and Hamburger Helper Just for Milk? Then Dont Miss anymore because check our next level alternatives for Mac & Cheese also Your Hamburger Helper. Try once and enjoy it.

    Best Pepper Jack Cheese Substitutes

    This article may contain affiliate links and if you make a purchase after clicking on a link, we may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.

    Pepper jack cheese is a type or variant of Monterey jack cheese that contains various kinds of spices, herbs, and even peppers incorporated into the cheese as it is forming.

    Pepper jack cheese could require to be substituted for different reasons, and the good thing is that there are a few other kinds of cheese you can use to replace pepper jack cheese.

    Some of the best pepper jack cheese substitutes include Gauda cheese, Havarti cheese, cheddar cheese, edam cheese, parmesan, etc.

    In this article, you will get to understand what pepper jack cheese is and what you can use as an alternative whenever the need arises.

    Lets get started!

    Recommended Reading: How Many Calories In A Sargento Mozzarella Cheese Stick

    Why You’ll Love This Recipe

    • quick, easy, and simple to make.
    • filled red and green peppers for a pretty cheese platter.
    • bursting with flavor and you can adjust the spiciness.
    • gluten-free, soy-free, and cashew-free, so everyone can enjoy it.

    You can adjust this recipe to be made with coconut milk, cashews, or plant-based milk and choose to make it firm or soft and meltable.

    A Cheese With An Attitude


    Water or nut milks ~ water is needed to create the agar gel. This requires boiling. Nut Milk can be used for a more authentic flavor, but it is not required. You can use water instead. Once you heat the nut milk it will no longer be a raw product.

    Raw Cashews ~ Raw cashews are very popular because they have a neutral taste and create a very creamy texture. Other nuts and some seeds can be used instead but will give the recipe a different flavor and sometimes, texture.

    Agar Powder ~ Agar is a sea vegetable. It is a magical ingredient in this recipe because it gives the cheese the structure. Without it, your cheese will. well will be more of a sauce or dip. Nothing wrong with that it just depends on how you want to use the cheese.

    For more information on agar, you can read about it here. You can use agar flakes instead of the powder but youll have to use 3 times as much. It is also more difficult to dissolve the agar flakes in the small amount of water called for in this recipe. I dont recommend it, but it can be done. Flakes are also harder to measure in volume, as they tend to fluff up.Tahini ~ Tahini is made from ground sesame seeds. It gives the cheese a hardier and more convincing flavor.

    One really fun thing to do with these types of cheese is to make them in different sized and shaped containers. You have to move quickly when pouring but if you have them all lined up and ready to beforehand, it is easy.

    Recommended Reading: Does Family Dollar Sell Ricotta Cheese

    Cheese Labelling What You Need To Know

  • Manufacturers are not required by law to label products for vegetarians. If they do apply labels, they do so voluntarily. This is why labelling can be inconsistent and unclear. Look for a suitable for vegetarians or V label to be sure a product is veggie-friendly.
  • For complete confidence in a cheese being vegetarian or vegan, look out for the Vegetarian Society Approved vegetarian and vegan trademarks.
  • Pro Tips For Making Vegan Cheese

  • When cooking the agar powder and water make sure to use a non-stick saucepan.
  • Soak cashews for at least 1 hour in cold water if you arent using a high-speed blender. If you have a high-speed blender you dont need to soak your cashews. Your cheese will be smooth and creamy.
  • Dont expect your vegan cheese to be as hard as commercial brands, it will be firm enough to grate and slice, more life a firm soft cheese.
  • Some people have had better results with Kappa Carrageenan instead of agar for making vegan sliceable cheese. I find agar just fine.
  • Serve this pepper jack cheese, along with Vegan Cheddar Cheese, fruits, antipasto, crackers on your cheese board.
  • Because of the addition of the peppers your pepper jack cheese with last for 3 days refrigerated.
  • Also Check: How Much Cheese Can You Eat On A Keto Diet

    Macadamia Nut Quesa Fresco

    Macadamia nut cheese is a delicious addition to any dish. With the sweet and savory flavors of macadamias, this spreadable delight will have you asking for more!

    Pair it on top of your favorite crackers or alongside some fruit jamits perfect either way.

    Macadamia nuts make a great pairing at breakfast time by spreading them over oatmeal alongside some fresh fruit such as strawberries dipped in honeycomb syrup before they go inside our mouth cavity.

    Vegan Pepper Jack Cheese Please

    Pin on Halal Vegetarian Foods
    • 1 ½ cups plain non-dairy milk
    • 2 ½ teaspoon agar powder 2 ½ tablespoons of agar flakes
    • 1 ½ tablespoon tapioca starch
    • 1 ½ tablespoon cornstarch or arrowroot starch
    • 1 ½ tablespoon chickpea flour
    • 3 tablespoons nutritional yeast
    • ½ to ¾ teaspoon salt
    • ½ teaspoon garlic powder
    • 2 teaspoons jalapeno pepper finely chopped
    • 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes

    Recommended Reading: What Are The Prices At Chuck E Cheese

    What Is The Most Tastiest Cheese

    MADISON: A gruyere from Switzerland has been named the worlds best cheese, chosen from a record number of entrants from 26 nations in the World Championship Cheese Contest in Wisconsin. The cheese from Bern, Switzerland made its maker, Michael Spycher of Mountain Dairy Fritzenhaus, a two-time winner.

    How To Make Meltable Cheese

  • Chop up 1/3 cup of red peppers and 1-2 Jalanos into very small pieces.
  • Saute the peppers in 1 tbsp of oil over low heat for about 3 minutes.
  • Add a can of coconut milk, 1/4 cup of water, 3 tbsp of nutritional yeast, 2 tbsp agar agar, 1/2 tsp garlic, 1/2 tsp lemon juice, 1 tsp salt, and a dash of cayenne pepper.
  • Heat the cheese sauce over medium heat until it begins to boil.
  • Turn down the heat until it is just barely bubbling and allow it to boil for 5 minutes while stirring frequently.
  • Add 2 tbsp plus 1 tsp of tapioca starch to 1/4 cup of water and stir until it dissolves.
  • Add the starch and water mixture to the boiling cheese sauce and stir it in with a whisk and cook for an additional 1 minute. .
  • Pour into a glass container and allow to cool uncovered in the refrigerator for at least 3 hours before shredding.
  • Read Also: Is Cottage Cheese On The Keto Diet

    If You Like This Post You Might Also Be Interested In:

    If youve tried this Vegan Pepper Jack Cheese recipe or any other recipe on my blog then dont forget to rate the recipe and let me know how you got on in the comments below, I LOVE hearing from you! You can also FOLLOW ME on , and to see more delicious food!!!


    The Very Good Cheese Co Pepper Jack Cheese

    Making Pepper Jack Cheese

    Bring the heat! Introducing mild Monterey Jack style cheese thats kicked up a notch with jalapenos and ancho chilies. Its smooth, creamy texture is perfect for crackers or a plant-based queso dip.

    Use their plant-based cheese blocks like you would cheese. Because theyre made naturally firm with oils, they melt and are very versatile:

    • Slice when cold for crackers and sandwiches.
    • Use as a creamy spread when softened to room temperature.

    Ingredients: Cashews, Filtered Water, Organic Coconut Oil, Nutritional Yeast, Organic Chickpea Miso , Sea Salt, Organic Onion Powder, Jalapeno Flakes, Red Pepper Flakes, Cultures.

    Allergens: Contains Cashews.

    Disclaimer: we do our best to provide accurate information on every item , but over time information and packaging may change or be updated and there may be a delay before appearing here. If in doubt or have specific concerns please contact us or the manufacturer as necessary.

    You May Like: How To Make A Meat And Cheese Tray

    Popular Articles

    More Recipes Like This